4 cabañas en Matlacha Pass en el pueblo de pesca y arte de Matlacha, Florida
Shelby Morgan Brenton
Normas de la propiedad
Política de Cancelación
100% de reembolso para cancelaciones con más de 60 días antes de la fecha de llegada.
The place was really nice and clean
The only complaint that i have is that maybe they might think about is spraying the outside area. I got bit up by no-see-ums really bad. It kinda ruined my stay there and i might not go back because i was miserable the whole time with big itchy welts. And yes...the whole time of my stay. They were outside; but still. I hate to give bad results. The cottage was awesome with great, friendly neighbors
We stayed on Cayo Costa for 5 days. Coming off the island and staying in Matlacha or Pine Island has always been our routine. Time slipped and I had to scramble to find a place. Luckily, I found this one and it was perfect for what we needed. Hot shower, warm bed, cute little place with kitchen. The pool was perfect for my little ones. And it's situated perfectly with so many places within walking distance.
Perfect for a couple's get away! It was all we needed for our week long stay on Matlacha! However if you are tall in stature (low ceilings) or sensitive to noise (main road through town), this is not the place for you. Caught fish off the dock and kayaked up and down the canal. Short walk to shops and restaurants. Parking available at the cottage which is at a premium in this area. Cottage was clean and comfortable.
This listing is very misleading. The photo shows a cute cottage on the water. When we arrived, that was already occupied and there was no one on site to direct us. Called the owner who didn't respond till evening. We wasted an hour tracking down the alternative contact, Tom, who said we were in a small unit adjacent to the cottage. It was clean but very dark and no view of the water. This was supposed to be the highlight of our trip, but turned out to be the biggest disappointment. The owner did arrive the next day and offered us a dinner at a local Asian restaurant which was very good.
This experience was basically a bait and switch experience and I would advise VRBO to correct this listing with a full description of the property. I would only recommend The small unit to someone who was arriving late at night and leaving early the next morning.
We were booked in Candy Cottage, but there was a mix up and ended up at another property owned by the same resort a few blocks away. The two bedroom unit we stayed in was clean and roomy with a million dollar view from the screen porch of the bay. We kept our kayaks at the orignally booked property for easy in and out kayaking. The restaurant the owner owns is great...fell in love with the spring rolls...delicious food. Would go back.
Thank you Marilyn.
The Pros: I have to say to start that the cottage was very clean and tidy. It was well stocked with all the essentials needed for three of us. There was one tv in the living area which was fine for us. The pool and deck were spotless and having the kayaks at our disposal was very nice. The location was a quaint arts inspired fishing village. The local seafood was very tasty and only a short walk to get to.
The Cons: Okay so when I made this reservation I asked if our 25" boat would be accommodated, well it was not. There was a small dock with a non-functional pontoon boat the guests were fishing from when we arrived. There was no one on premise the whole time we were there except a maintenance man, not one person was checked in properly they all complained about that when we met them at the pool area. We were left with asking other guests how to get into our room, where should we park our trailer, where was the closest public boat ramp (not that we could use it, we had nowhere to dock it)! We went there to fish from our boat and to be able to have it docked at our cottage, I wish when we had made the reservation that these people would have been honest with us and told us that there was no room for any boat of that size. They also advertise a boat lift that is first come first serve; the neighbors said the boat on the lift hasn't moved in months, it's clearly not a guest’s boat since we spoke with each guest staying on the property.
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on my property. We do like the pros you stated in your comment a lot. Matlacha is a small old city that doesn't change much. It's like a time capsule of the pass. We like to call it "eye of an old beauty".
As far as the cons you stated in your comment, We are truly sorry for that. We love to personally visit and talk to our guest because that is where all the fun about having a vacation home rental. We were distracted because We were in the process of purchasing a second Pine Island Paradise Resort with a restaurant on the other side of Matlacha Bridge. This Pine Island Paradise number 2 will definitely able to hold your boat. Pine Island Paradise #2 will also come with a small restaurant call "Island Pho & Grill. Your dinner will be on us next time if you happen to come to Matlacha again. We are scheduled to open on August 20, 2016.
About the check in process, we prepare the room, turn AC on, unlock the door and assigned the room to our guest. Each unit has a name, Sleepy Hollow, Candy Cottage, Sea Grape I and Sea Grape II. There is only 4 units on our property. My maintenance person/manager is normally very good with everything around the area. He is known as the "Island man", because he knows everything about this island. We are surprised that he didn't show you where the public boat ramp is, which is only around the corner from our property.
We always thought that our boat dock can support up to a 30' boat. Now, we know. We are sorry for that miss information.
Again, thank your for your comment. We would love to hear from you again, both pros and cons.
Sivan Lam, owner.